Tattfoo Tan: Nature Matching System

I love colors. And I love food. When I came across this inspiring Nature Matching System project developed by graphic artist Tattfoo Tan as a “reminder to consume your daily recommended doses of color”, I nearly freaked.

Since the website explains it better than I ever could, please go there. For those who don’t feel like clicking their way over, Tattfoo says this about the project:

“The shades of color displayed at farmers’ markets are more than skin deep, reflecting the inner potential of every fruit and vegetable; intense colors might even be called nature’s nutrition labels. They get many of their colors from phytonutrients, compounds that play key roles in health and reduce the risk of heart disease and cancer. The more colors come together at a meal, the better. Sadly, marketers of junk food apply the same technique used by nature to pollinate seed to their nutrition-deprived product. Color is a device that can do good or be deceptive and ensure the pollination of unhealthy eating habits. The colors on the placemat shown below are all actual food colors, taken from photographs of various fruits and vegetables. Match your meal to the placemat—it is truly a rainbow connection.”

nms1

I immediately downloaded the free screensaver version and now I can be reminded to consume my daily doses of color! It comes both for PC and Mac.

Why I had never come across or heard of Tattfoo is beyond me. Amazing talent. His other projects are equally intriguing. I especially liked Concrete Jungle and Time is Luxury. I am definitely adding his blog to my RSS.

Tattfoo’s Blog

Photo: Tattfoo Tan

Comment

