Fashion Week Fall 2009 Favorites

Yes, yes, I write about Rodarte a lot. And I will continue to after this little tangent.  But, I’ve been perusing the Fashion Week shows and really, it’s been mostly depressing. The few exceptions (for me, anyway) being Alexander Wang, Preen, Erin Fetherston and Marc by Marc Jacobs. And yes, I did prefer the Marc by Marc Jacobs collection over the Marc Jacobs 60 model parade. This season I am just feeling the perfection of a fit or a perfectly tailored piece over blossoming shoulders of an 80’s neon alien. Although, Stam looked fabulous.

Here are my favorite stand out pieces:

Alexander Wang – Asymmetry always a plus in my book.

wang

Preen – This dress makes me want to chop off all my hair again and call myself Domino Harvey; Keira style.

preen

Erin Fetherston – Feminine, flirtatious, doll-like. To help me not take things so seriously.

erin

Marc by Marc Jacobs – Playing with colors, comfort, and fit.

bovary

marc-by-men08

Now on to Rodarte. The collection was my favorite since last Fall. I might just prefer the Fall season in general for its color ways and layering intricacies. So, of course I loved what the Mulleavy’s have done this time around. Dramatic thigh-highs matched with a patchwork of  multi-textured sheaths. Each piece was a feast for the eyes. I find something new each time I glance at the collection. Maybe I am biased now, but I truly believe they can do no wrong.

Rodarte – Like watching the seasons change; from ice to the greener grass on the other side.

6

rodarte

29

Photos: NYMag

One thought on “Fashion Week Fall 2009 Favorites

Comment

