Monsters of Folk

monstersoffolk

There are very few bad things I can say about Conor Oberst, M. Ward, Jim James and Mike Mogis. And I wouldn’t ever care to. They are this generation’s definite source of all things folk, blues, and soul. When I heard of their collaboration a few months back I had no doubt the release would be perfect. And it is. The album plays like a conversation between new friends. You can almost feel the four getting to know each other as they take turns doing what they do best. Ward’s ethereal crooning mixed with Oberst’s unmatched songwriting abilities, topped off with the classic country vibes of James and production genius Mogis, is the perfect modern recipe for folk. Highlights include Dear God (sincerely, M.O.F.), Temazcal, Slow Down Jo, and Map of the World. However, the whole album truly is great and deserves a thorough listen. I just wish their tour was stopping closer to where I live!

One thought on “Monsters of Folk

  1. Oh yeah, you know I love Monsters of Folk. Conor Oberst is my male doppleganger — my friend figured it out. We have the same eyes….I love this album!

    xx

    Like

Comment

