Dutch Baby Pancake

When it comes to the holidays, my husband and I rotate Thanksgiving and Christmas between my family and his. This year, since we spent Thanksgiving with my family, we spent Christmas with his. Before we left for his parent’s house on Christmas Eve this year, I decided to embark on (rather arbitrarily) a new tradition: making Dutch Baby Pancakes for Christmas Eve breakfast.

Now, I am huge on traditions; specifically traditions having to do with Christmas. I mean, during my childhood the entire month building up to Christmas was full of them: leaving my shoes out for St. Nick (my dad) on the night of December 5th, dinner at Old Ebbitt Grille, Advent Calendars, watching The Snowman, A Muppet’s Family Christmas, and It’s A Wonderful Life, Christmas Eve dinner after church, setting up the train under the Christmas Tree, milk, cookies, and carrots for St. Nick and Rudolph, scotch tastings (that came later in life…) etc., etc. I could go on and on. So, since I am typically a hot mess when I don’t spend the holidays with my family I needed something to tide me over until this weekend when we head up to D.C. for Christmas #2.

I love Dutch Baby Pancakes because they are simple, fun, and comforting. We typically top ours with powdered sugar and lemon, but I’m sure these pancakes would taste good with jams or syrups as well. I’d also like to try mixing blueberries into the batter, but unfortunately I did not have any on hand this time around.

  

Image

 

Shopping List:

3 tbsp butter

2 beaten eggs

1/2 cup of flour

1/2 cup of milk

1 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp salt

pinch of nutmeg

drop of vanilla extract

 

How To:

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Melt the butter in a 10 inch ovenproof skillet (preferably cast-iron) in the oven. Remove the skillet from the oven when the butter is melted. In a bowl, mix together the eggs, flour, milk, sugar, salt, nutmeg, and vanilla. Whisk the batter making sure not to “over-whisk” and pour into the hot skillet. Return the skillet to the oven and bake for roughly 18-20 minutes or until the pancake is puffy and evenly browned. Take that baby out of the skillet, slice and serve with sprinkled lemon juice and powdered sugar.

One thought on “Dutch Baby Pancake

Comment

