Easy (but not so quick) Pork Pozole

After spending a long weekend in New Orleans eating amazing food and drinking equally amazing cocktails, I was at somewhat of a loss as to what to make for our dinners this past week. Not only was I too tired to cook, but I felt that nothing could compare to the muffuletta I had at Napoleon House, or the gumbo I had at Felix’s. And then my brother posted on his blog about cooking red beans and rice and while I was super tempted to give the amazing recipe a shot I thought it might keep me in my NOLA food funk longer. So I decided to go in a completely different direction: pork pozole. It was cold and I knew the flavors would remind me of warmer, sunnier, days. Even better, I could bust out the slow cooker and let it do all of the work for me. This recipe is great for lazy days or for work days because it takes about 6 hours from start to finish. I sped it up a little because I was sitting at home all day, growing hungrier and hungrier. The best part though, is the fact that you can first eat it as a stew and then save some of the leftover pork for tacos. Meals for days! My recipe is really not very sophisticated and I hope that I did pozole justice. I really just grabbed some ingredients and threw them in the pot.

Shopping List

2 pound Boston Butt (cut into 3-4 big pieces)

1/2 onion, sliced

5 garlic cloves

8-12 ounces chicken stock

1/2 lime, juiced

1 large jalapeño, sliced in half

1 bay leaf

1/2 tablespoon oregano

1/2 can diced tomatoes or Goya tomato sauce (or any sort of tomato base you want)

1/2 can green chiles

Handful of chopped cilantro

Handful of chopped baby carrots

15 ounces of hominy

Salt and pepper to taste

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

 

How To

Throw the sliced onion on the bottom of the slow cooker. Add the pork pieces to the pot, sprinkled with salt and pepper. Then add in the garlic, chicken stock, bay leaf, jalapeño slices, lime juice (and halves), oregano, tomatoes and chiles. Cover the pot and set to high and cook for 4- 4 1/2 hours. At this point, the meat should be super tender.

 

Image

 

Remove the meat from the pot and set aside. Once the meat is cool enough to handle, shred it. I usually just place it in a bowl and shred it using two forks.

 

Image

 

Remove lime rinds and bay leaf from the pot and discard. Remove the jalapeño slices and garlic from the pot, chop finely and throw them back in. Then put the shredded pork back in the pot along with the chopped carrots and hominy. Cover and cook for an additional 45 minutes or so. The stew should be warmed through and the carrots should be tender. At any point in time, feel free to add chili flakes to the pot to amp up the heat. I used a bit of chipotle crushed chili flakes and added some of my favorite hot sauce to my own personal bowl. Serve hot with warm tortillas!

 

Image
Comment

