Shakshouka

Today is the final day of my winter vacation so I spent the morning in my happy place, otherwise known as the kitchen. I’ve been wanting to make Shakshouka, a traditional Tunisian dish, for a long time, but I felt as though I needed to acquire a cast iron skillet first. Luckily my lovely in-laws gave me one for Christmas! This recipe, adapted from Kinfolk, is right up my alley because it requires few ingredients and is easy from prep to clean-up. I recommend saving the leftover tomato sauce for dinner – I plan on throwing it together with some linguine later on tonight.

 

Shopping List

Olive oil to coat the skillet
1/2 yellow onion, chopped
1 cup of chopped kale (curly or Lacinto, whatever you prefer)
4-5 cloves minced garlic
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon hot chili powder
1 28 ounce can diced fire roasted tomatoes with liquid
Kosher salt to taste
3-4 eggs
1/2 cup crumbled goat cheese
1 tablespoon chopped parsley
1 tablespoon chopped basil

 

Image

 

How To

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and heat the olive oil in a cast-iron skillet over medium-high heat. Throw the onions, kale and garlic into the skillet. Stir until soft and add in the cumin, and chili powder. Stir for a minute or two. Then, add in the tomatoes, with liquid. Reduce the heat and let the mixture simmer for roughly 15 minutes.

When thickened slightly, add in salt to taste. Using a wooden spoon, make a little hole in the sauce and crack an egg into it. Do this for each egg. Place the skillet in the preheated oven and cook for 8-10 minutes, until the egg whites are set. Remove from the oven and top the skillet with the goat cheese, parsley, and basil. I also added chopped scallions. Serve right out of the skillet with fresh, toasted, bread.

 

Image

 

Image

Comment

