Aunt Judi’s Caesar Salad

This past Saturday I had a big craving for one of my all time favorite salads; the Caesar. I don’t know what it is about this salad, but it just gets me. Together, Parmesan, lemon juice, olive oil, egg, Worcestershire sauce, and garlic are just perfect. I absolutely love the flavor combination; always have, always will. Really, for how much I love this salad, it’s pretty crazy that I had never made it before.

While my husband was typing away all day on a school project, I cracked open a very special cookbook made for me by my Aunt Judi. I have some great memories of her Caesar salad; she would make it for me every time I came to visit. Even though my take on the dish turned out to be pretty delicious, it for some reason didn’t quite compare to hers. Why do recipes made my family members always taste so much better when they make them!? Maybe I just need a bit more practice! Regardless, I love this salad! I served it for lunch along with some mussels (using my tomato and white wine sauce recipe) and a sourdough baguette.

 

Image

 

Shopping List

(The full recipe serves 4+)

1-2 bags of Romaine lettuce

1/2 cup of Extra Virgin Olive Oil

2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 tbsp red wine vinegar

1-2 cloves of garlic

1/2 tsp salt

dash of cayenne pepper

dash of Worcestershire sauce

1 egg – coddled

1/4 – 1/2 cup of freshly grated Parmesan cheese

 

How To

Place the coddled egg, garlic, and olive oil in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. Add in all of the remaining ingredients. Blend again until smooth. Then place the dressing in the fridge for at least an hour. Add about 1/2 of the dressing to one bag of Romaine and toss. Garnish with extra Parmesan and lemon wedges.

 

Image

 

Comment

