Brioche Breakfast Sammie

I love breakfast. And, like most Americans, I love brunch. The thing is though, I’d really rather not go out for brunch. On the weekends I love to make brunch foods myself, lounge around all morning, and then go out for happy hour or dinner. I am just not ready to go back out into the world after a week of work and most likely a night out with friends. (INTJ much?) Luckily my husband, while definitely not an introvert, also shares a love for nice and slow weekend mornings. So on any given Saturday and Sunday, you can find us reading from our respective personal electronic devices, drinking coffee and tea, and consuming eggs, bacon, and whatever else I feel like preparing that day.

 

Yesterday I realized I had never made an egg patty before and decided to give it a shot. I had leftover brioche buns from some burgers I made during the week and thought it would be a good idea to make a massive breakfast sandwich that would get us through the day. My husband went the boring route and simply wanted eggs, bacon, and swiss on his sandwich. I added tomato and a little Sriracha mayo. Seriously though, this sandwich is heavenly. And egg patties are ridiculously easy to make…so as usual, I made a big deal out of nothing.

 

Image

 

Grocery List

2 Brioche buns

2-4 eggs 

4 slices of bacon

1 Roma tomato – sliced

2 slices of Swiss cheese (or any kind of cheese you prefer)

Salt and pepper to taste

 

How To

Toast the buns with the cheese in the oven (I usually just stick them in for 7 minutes at 350 degrees). Using a cast iron skillet, fire up the bacon and cook until nice and crispy. While the bacon is cooking, prep the eggs by whisking them together in a bowl. If you have round egg rings, grease them with some olive oil so that the egg patties will not stick. Set the bacon aside when it is done and place the round egg rings in the skillet. Pour about half of the whisked eggs in each ring. Let the eggs cook and set for about 3-5 minutes. The patties should then slip out of the rings relatively easily, and you can flip each patty to make sure the other side is cooked through. When the egg patties are good to go, place them on the toasted buns, and load the sandwiches with the bacon, tomato, mayo, and/or any other desired topping. Serve with hot coffee or tea!

 

 

Comment

