Roasted Apple & Blue Cheese Galette

Yesterday I had big plans. I wanted to make a pretty fig tart. At Whole Foods I discovered figs aren’t in season so that dream was quickly altered and I decided a roasted apple tart would do. But really, this tart was never meant to be, and I should have known this. Any time I make rash decisions and do not take the time to formulate a plan (and in this case a recipe!) everything blows up in my face. I mean, how hard can a tart be? Especially when you cheat and don’t even make your own dough?

Basically what happened was this: things went smoothly as I roasted the apples and shallots. I then rolled out the puff pastry and discovered I really didn’t have enough roasted apples and shallots to cover the dough. Instead of taking a moment to just cut the dough into smaller tart portions, I hastily decided to make a galette and I folded the dough over the filling. The pastry was in the oven for a good 3 minutes before I realized I completely forgot to add in the blue cheese.

Luckily I had wine on hand so tears were avoided, and once a glass was poured, I was able to open the galette back up (it was a ridiculously messy, disasterous, situation). I put in the blue cheese and tried to shape the pastry into a respectable rectangle (because galettes can be “free-form” – or at least that is what I keep telling myself). But let me tell you, despite many mistakes being made, this thing tastes delicious and really, that is all that matters. The “recipe” is below. Make at your own risk! 😉

 

Image

 

Grocery List

1 sheet of puff pastry, defrosted

4 apples, sliced (I used Pink Lady)

2 shallots, sliced

1/2-3/4 cup of blue cheese

3 sprigs of rosemary, finely chopped

1/3 cup of olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

1 tsp of water and 1 egg, whisked, for egg wash

 

How To

Preheat the oven to 425°F. In a bowl, toss the sliced apples and shallots with the rosemary, olive oil, salt, and pepper. Spread the mixture out on a baking sheet and roast in the oven for roughly 30 minutes. Set aside when done.

 

Image

 

Next, roll out the puff pastry on a lightly floured cutting board then move it over to a greased baking sheet. Brush a one inch border around the puff pastry with the egg wash. Pour in the roasted apple filling on one half of the pastry, and don’t forget to add the blue cheese on top! Fold over the other half of the pastry and seal the egg washed border with your fingers. Coat the top with more egg wash, to aid in browning. Place the baking sheet in the oven, still heated to 425°F, and let the pastry bake for 22-25 minutes. Once it is nicely browned, let it sit on a cutting board for about five minutes or so before slicing. Serve warm garnished with extra rosemary. 

 

Image

Comment

