Sandwich Series Part III: Tuna Salad on Billy Bread

One day a few years back I spent a half hour crouched in an interior closet at my in-laws’ house waiting out a tornado warning. I can’t really remember what happened to said tornado or if one actually formed, but the TV did cut away from regularly scheduled programming to terrifying take cover announcements and loud alarm sounds. I do know that was also the day I developed an irrational fear of thunderstorms (only the “severe”, of course). So nowadays when a storm is a brewin’ I like to keep myself occupied and distracted – otherwise I stare at the radar on one of my numerous weather apps until we are out of the red zone. Crazy, I know.

This past Friday we had a pretty good storm, mostly heavy rain really. But I was still a bit frantic so I decided to get into my happy place and make a sandwich. I had been promising the husband that I’d make tuna salad and luckily I had just picked up a fresh loaf of Richmond’s finest Billy Bread for the weekend at a cute local shop, Harvest Grocery. I like my tuna salad smoky and spicy – so if you feel the same way I suggest letting loose with the paprika and cayenne. And both fresh dill and dill pickles are necessary as well – you get the much needed vinegar flavor mixed with fresh aromatics.

By the time dinner prep and consumption was over I barely noticed the storm came and went. Success! 

 

Image

 

Grocery List

1 fresh loaf of Billy Bread (or a nice crusty sourdough if you aren’t in the RVA area and can’t get Billy)

1 12 ounce can of tuna, drained

1 handful of chopped dill

1 handful of chopped Italian parsley

2 – 3 diced pickle spears

1 – 2 diced celery stalks

¼ cup diced Vidalia onion

¼ cup of mayonnaise

Dash of Spanish smoked or Hungarian sweet paprika depending on preference

Dash of cayenne

Salt and pepper to taste

Chives for garnish

 

Image

 Image

 

How To

In a large bowl, mix together the tuna, dill, parsley, pickles, onion, and mayo. Season the mixture to taste with the remaining ingredients – paprika, cayenne, salt, and pepper. Then, spoon heaping amounts of the tuna salad onto slices of Billy Bread and top with chives. Dinner is ready!

 

Image

Comment

