TA’s Homemade Hamburgers

Life has been a little hectic lately. In the midst of trying to figure out where to live when we move to New York, my husband’s MBA graduation, and a trip to the beach, there hasn’t been much time to cook! Also I begrudgingly slashed my food budget in half. With only two weeks left of my employment and nearly two months until my husband starts his new job, I just can’t justify my normal spending habits. Despite all the busyness and uncertainty, it has been nice to have my husband around again! Last night he took over in the kitchen and made some homemade hamburgers – I thought they were absolutely delicious so I thought I’d share the recipe.

Now, I do have a slight problem when it comes to burgers. I can never decide on an appropriate amount of toppings and I usually end up with a leaning tower that becomes one big burger mess. Last night was no exception, but I stand by my choices: sprouts, Vidalia, green onion, tomato, pepper jack cheese, pickles, ketchup, and mayo. It was my first time putting sprouts on a burger and it won’t be the last. Everything (almost) is better with sprouts.

 

Image

 

Grocery List

Serves 4

16 ounces ground chuck

4 potato hamburger buns

2 ½ tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

1 ½ teaspoons Penzey’s Northwoods Fire seasoning

1 teaspoon shallot salt

1 teaspoon fresh ground pepper

2 slices pepper jack cheese

Roma tomato slices

Alfalfa sprouts

Vidalia onion slices

Pickles (I used McClure’s spicy variety)

Chopped green onions (because I can’t help myself and I put them on everything)

 

Image

 

How To

In a bowl, combine the ground chuck, Worcestershire sauce, Northwoods Fire seasoning, shallot salt, and pepper. Using your hands, mix and massage all the ingredients until they are well combined. Divide and roll the chuck into 4, 4 oz, balls. Using the palm of your hand, press down on the top of each chuck ball and make it into a patty. Wrap each patty in cling wrap and place them in the fridge for an hour so that the flavors meld.

 

Image

 

Preheat a grill pan over medium-high heat and add in a bit of canola oil. When the grill pan is hot enough, add in the burger patties and cook each side for about two to three minutes. The burgers should be medium at this point. If you want them a little more done, leave them on for 1-2 minutes longer. When ready, place the patties on toasted potato buns and add toppings to your heart’s content. If you have leftover patties, simply place them in the freezer until you have a burger craving. Mine will likely come around in two to three days…

 

Image

2 thoughts on “TA’s Homemade Hamburgers

Comment

