Cream Cheese Cookies

I very rarely crave sweets. They just really aren’t my thing. I’m a salty and savory type of girl, through and through. But every once in a while I do succumb to the need (want) for sugar. Usually I go for dark chocolate or peanut butter desserts. However, last night I was cranky and I refused to go to the store; I wanted something quick and easy, something that I could make with what I had on hand. So, with only 5 ingredients needed, I took on the “challenge” of Merrill Stubbs’ cream cheese cookies.

Let me explain the “challenge”. Like sweets, baking really isn’t my thing. A few years back, I desperately wanted it to be, and I tried my hand at various cupcake recipes, but quickly discovered I have zero aptitude for it. For the most part I hate following recipes and I feel like there is no room for error in baking. And I am really great at making errors while baking. For example, last night I decided to cut the cream cheese cookie recipe in half (because two people do not need 24 cookies) but of course I forgot to cut the amount of cream cheese needed in half. I didn’t realize this until they were in the oven.

I keep asking myself WHY, but there is simply no excuse. Low blood sugar while baking? Maybe. Or maybe I just hate baking. Anywho, believe it or not, the cookies turned out okay (I had three for breakfast)! I just had to cook them a bit longer and they taste a little cream cheesier. As a person who gave up cream cheese for Lent one year, let me tell you, this is not a bad thing. They also ended up looking like peanut butter cookies, which I found odd. With all that said – the full, accurate recipe is below for successful, accurate bakers. Really, it is so laughable that I messed up this ridiculously simple recipe.

 

Image

 

Grocery List

Makes 24 cookies

8 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature

3 ounces cream cheese, softened

1 cup sugar

1 cup all-purpose flour

½ teaspoon salt

 

How To

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix together the butter, cream cheese and sugar until light and fluffy, roughly 3 to 5 minutes. Then add in the flour and salt and ensure everything is evenly mixed.

Scoop the batter with a tablespoon onto two baking sheets leaving about 1.5 inches between each cookie. Bake the cookies in the oven for about 12 minutes or until the edges are golden brown. Cool the cookies for a few minutes on the cookie sheet then transfer them to a plate with a spatula.

Comment

