Nut-free Arugula Pesto

Pesto is one of my favorite things to make during the summer. I like to put it on just about everything: pasta, pizza, salmon, crackers, etc. The only problem is now without our garden I rarely have basil on hand. And I pretty much never have pine nuts or even walnuts unless I really plan ahead. One day this week I was trying to figure out what to make for dinner from the contents of our refrigerator so that I did not have to catch Stamford’s free trolley and take it down to the harbor where Fairway Market is. I ended up making a nut-free arugula pesto that I will honestly make a few more times in the next couple of months. It’s that good. I tossed it with some linguine that night, with extra Parmesan of course, and the following day I added it to a killer Calabrese ham and goat cheese sandwich on sourdough. Give this one a go because it is truly a great alternative to standard pesto.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Grocery List

2 cups arugula
1 cup spinach
2 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed
Dash of red pepper flakes
1 lemon, juiced
⅓ cup olive oil
¼ cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
Salt and pepper to taste

How To

Put all the ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth. Then put pesto on anything and everything!

2 thoughts on “Nut-free Arugula Pesto

Comment

