Super Simple Linguine with White Wine Sauce

When I was a child I had a strong aversion towards tomato sauce. I refused to eat pizza unless it was “white” and the same went for pasta. In fact, to this day, buttered noodles remains as one of my most cherished comfort dishes. Since my palate has matured a bit from when I was 10, I can now enjoy a red sauce now and then. I consider my brother’s pasta amatriciana one of the best dishes of all time. It’s amazing! But still, when I go to Italian restaurants I more often than not order linguine vongole or some other dish sitting in a pool of white wine, garlic, and butter. I just LOVE it.

This past week was another busy corporate drone type of week so inevitably pasta was on the menu. I was about to mail it in big time, with tomato sauce from a jar, but at the last second was inspired by a container of crème fraîche in the fridge. I had a bit of wine left over from the weekend as well as parsley and cremini mushrooms that were fading fast. So I decided to throw it all together and luckily, the experiment was successful. I still made “his and her” pasta since the husband opted for the jarred sauce. But, let me tell you, he seemed a bit jealous when he took a bite from my bowl.

On a side note, crème fraîche is my new best friend. While many scorn it for its high calorie and fat content – just know a little bit of this bad boy from time to time is a-ok! It contains natural probiotics that benefit the immune system and the digestive system, and is easier to cook with than sour cream because it won’t curdle in high heat. It also has a decent shelf life so you don’t need to worry about using it all at once. And besides, my doctor keeps telling me to gain 10 pounds sooo that’s my excuse.

photo

Grocery List

Generously Serves 2

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 small shallot, diced
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • Handful of cremini mushrooms, sliced
  • Handful of chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/3 cup dry white wine
  • 1-2 tablespoons crème fraîche
  • Kosher salt, freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • Freshly grated parmesan or pecorino romano
  • 1/2 pound linguine, cooked al dente and drained

How To

  • While the linguine is cooking, add the olive oil to a sauce pan over medium-low heat. When hot, add the shallots and cook until they start to become translucent, about 5 minutes. Add in the mushrooms and cook until they begin to soften. Salt and pepper the mixture to taste. Throw in the garlic and cook for about 30 seconds to a minute longer.
  • Next, pour in the white wine. Simmer the sauce over low heat for about fifteen minutes. Then, stir in the crème fraiche and finally toss in the parsley.
  • When the pasta is ready, drain it and add it to the sauce pan and mix well. Serve topped with freshly grated parmesan or pecorino romano.
One thought on “Super Simple Linguine with White Wine Sauce

Comment

