Beef Marrow Bone Broth

As I mentioned in a previous post, our New Year’s Eve dinner included a rib eye topped with bone marrow (which tasted ridiculously amazing and I highly suggest you try this at one point in your life to feel oh so luxurious). This was my first attempt at cooking with bone marrow and at first, I have to admit, I was a bit squeamish. For one, bones are creepy and for two, the idea of marrow is strange if you think about it for too long (so soft and squishy, and it comes from inside the bone – not as straightforward as meat from outside the bone…and it’s only soft and squishy after roasting…otherwise you wouldn’t necessarily know the goodness that’s in there…). So, I made a point to not think about it for too long.

Long story short, I bought a beef marrow bone that was a bit too large for our two person meal and being that I am trying my best to avoid waste, I decided to make a good old fashioned bone broth! It was perfect really, I intended to make soup the following day and it called for beef broth. Why use a box of the prepackaged stuff when I could make my own?

At the end of it all, the results were delicious. The broth was good and the soup that I made with the broth was good. Could I really tell that I made the broth versus using a box of beef broth? No, not really. But, I feel better for have putting the rest of the bone and scraps of marrow to good use. Oh, and don’t get me started on the benefits of bone marrow! Essential fatty acids, vitamins, minerals, improved brain function, immune system support; I could go on and on.

 Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Grocery List
Makes roughly 32 ounces
Beef marrow bone (1 large, or a few smaller ones, grassfed only)
4 – 5 cups of water
1 onion, quartered
4 celery stalks, cut into large pieces
2 carrots, cleaned and trimmed
1 bouquet garni (I used parsley, thyme, chives, bay leaf)
Half a head of garlic
A few cloves
Salt and pepper to taste

How To
Preparing the Beef Marrow Bone
First, roast the marrow bone. Preheat the oven to 400°F. Put the marrow bone, cut side up, in a roasting pan or baking dish sprinkled with a bit of salt and pepper. Roast the bone for 15-20 minutes, until it starts to bubble and brown. Let it cool for a few minutes before using a small spoon or fork to scoop the marrow out of the bone. At this point, enjoy the marrow! Put it on bread like butter, top off some steak, or make a pate! Whatever is left over in the marrow bone will come out when cooked in the broth, so don’t worry too much about getting it totally clean.

Preparing the Stock
This couldn’t be any easier. Place all of the ingredients, bone included, in a large stock pot. Cover with 4-5 cups of water and bring to a boil. Then let it simmer, uncovered, for 60 to 90 minutes. Afterwards, strain the mixture through a colander and get rid of the solids. Cover the stock and let it chill in the fridge overnight. Before use, discard any fat that has solidified on top. The stock will hold for about 3 days or you can freeze it for up to 3 months.

Comment

