Radish Galette

I typically go to the grocery store with a list. I think about the week’s meals ahead of time and try my best to stick to the plan. If I don’t stick to the plan, I end up with random ingredients that sit in my fridge until they go bad. Sad, but true. I am working on limiting these happenings so that I can eventually avoid it all together. But sometimes a girl just gets too excited about trips out to Westport and buys all of the produce available at Fresh Market! For example, this past weekend I was on my own while the husband was doing his thing in the office (ON A SUNDAY…), so I spent the morning going off budget at both Fresh Market and Terrain. On that particular morning a bunch of Easter Egg radishes caught my eye and I convinced myself that even though I had nothing else in my basket to compliment them at the time, I would figure something out!

Fast forward to the following Friday. As I’m working from home and making lunch I come across said radishes buried in the back of the vegetable drawer. Oops. I didn’t want them to go to waste; I really love radishes. I bought them because they remind me of Spring and all of the Spring vegetables I’m looking forward to, and warmer temperatures, etc. etc. I had also recently had a conversation with my Momma about puff pastry, and then it hit me: a galette! I had some really nice leftover blue cheese and a couple of pears. Would those flavors work together? I was willing to find out. And so what if I posted a galette a few weeks ago? The more galettes, the merrier, I say.

This time around, however, I made my own pastry. I’m not up to the task of puff pastry quite yet, but this shortcrust pastry dough is pretty great. I started it on Friday so that it was ready to go Saturday morning. This pastry is so incredibly easy (surprisingly so) to make; it just takes a little bit of time and patience. Overall, I think the flavors of the galette work really well together. I added a drizzle of honey to balance the savory with a bit of sweetness. In the future, I might put a bit of ham in it…it might be the only way I can get my husband to eat it. In fact, he has yet to try this version, but no worries, that just means there is more for me!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Grocery List

For the shortcrust pastry dough

2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

9 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into small cubes and chilled

1 large egg

3 tablespoons cold water

For the filling

1/4 lb blue cheese, crumbled and mixed with a bit of olive oil, salt and pepper (mine was of the Danish variety)

1 Bosc pear, cubed

1 small shallot, thinly sliced

4-5 Easter Egg radishes, thinly sliced

Honey, for drizzling

1 egg yolk, for an egg wash

How To

First, prep the pastry dough. This should be done at least 1 hour ahead of time, but the day before cooking the galette would be preferable. My recipe is adapted from Mimi Thorisson (surprise).

Mix the flour and salt in a large bowl. Add in the butter and mix the ingredients together using your hands. The final result should be “crumbly”. Next, make a well in the center of the mixture and add in the egg and water. Combine all of the ingredients until the dough forms into a ball. Wrap it up in plastic wrap and set it in the refrigerator overnight.

About 15 minutes or so before you are ready to take the dough out of the fridge, prep the filling and preheat the oven to 425°F. Slice the radishes, shallot, and cube the pear. Crumble the blue cheese; mix it with a bit of olive oil and salt and pepper. When that is all ready to go, take out the dough. Roll it out to about an 8-10 inch round on a floured surface. It will be about a 1/4 inch thick or so. Mine was in no way a discernible round circle…and I didn’t shape it because I think it just adds to the galette’s rustic charm! Shape is not all that important, just make sure there is enough room for the filling. Place the pastry dough on an oiled baking sheet.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Then, lay the blue cheese mixture down on the pastry dough, followed by the pears, shallot, and radish. The radishes look best in one layer, so this is where you should try to make it pretty. Next, fold up the pastry sides around the filling; it will most likely take a pentagon shape. Drizzle the entire galette with honey, and sprinkle a bit of salt and pepper to taste. Brush the edges of the pastry with the egg wash. Place the baking sheet in the oven for about 25 minutes, until the galette is golden brown. The filling will be nice and bubbly, so let it cool for at least 5 minutes. Slice it four ways and serve with a hot cup of Earl Grey and enjoy.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

One thought on “Radish Galette

  1. This looks so beautiful and I’m sure it’s delicious . So photogenic , too, with the accompaniment of the flowers , “J”mug and bowl of lemons. Tomorrow I’m gonna make Mimi’s onion tart. I’ll let you know how it goes 😊

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Comment

