SAN MARZANO GAZPACHO

Summer is right around the corner, my friends! And with summer comes tomato season! I look forward to tomato season maybe just as much as I look forward to ramp season. And while I don’t have easy access to my favorite Hanover tomatoes anymore, I am looking forward to seeing what the local farms have to offer. Last summer I was lucky to get my hands on some beautiful heirlooms from Hubbard Heights Farm, one of which ended up in a delicious green gazpacho.

Speaking of gazpacho – I have been getting cravings early on this season. Perhaps too early – but winter was sooooo long! A week ago the cravings got the best of me and I did something I have never done before: gazpacho with canned tomatoes. That’s right, canned tomatoes. Now, I certainly have nothing against canned tomatoes, but normally I use canned tomatoes strictly for dishes that will be heated or for winter dishes. Gazpacho undoubtedly does not fall in either category.

Gazpacho is fresh! So fresh tomatoes are necessary! Right? Well, wrong, at least this time around. I gave in to the craving, cracked open my best canned goods, and satisfied my lycopene needs.

And you know what? It was delicious. No regrets. Thank you, thank you, thank you, canned tomatoes.

 

 

Grocery List

1 28 oz can of quality canned tomatoes (I used Afeltra San Marzano tomatoes)

1 English cucumber, peeled, seeded, and diced

1 green garlic bulb and stalk, white and green parts chopped

1/2 red onion, diced

1 jalapeño, seeded and diced

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

1/8 cup white wine vinegar

1 lemon, juiced

2 tablespoons fresh parsley

1 tablespoon fresh dill

Freshly ground black pepper and kosher salt to taste

How To

Prep the tomatoes, cucumber, green garlic, onion, and jalapeño. Then run each ingredient, separately if need be, through a food processor to make sure everything is coarsely chopped.

Combine the vegetables in a large bowl with the olive oil, white wine vinegar, lemon juice, fresh herbs, salt, and pepper. Mix well and taste as you go. Cover the bowl and chill for at least 3-4 hours before serving. This gazpacho tastes even better the next day!

Comment

