Summer Stew

I cannot believe it is almost August. I feel as though I was at the beach yesterday with my family for Memorial Day! Summer is going by so fast and I am not ready to let it go just yet. For one, the end of summer means my birthday is almost here and I’m not particularly happy about entering the last year of my twenties. And of course the end of summer means winter is coming and I am pretty sure I’ve traded in my lilapsophobia for an abnormal fear of blizzards thanks to the northeast.

On the plus side, it will soon be soup season (who am I kidding, I believe in a year round soup season)! This past weekend I went a little crazy and had three different soups, including the recipe below, in the span of two days. We spent Saturday in New York City and I don’t know what came over me, but man, I needed soup. For lunch it was a cold cucumber soup at Wichcraft in Soho and then I grabbed a quick bowl of a cold melon and crab soup with chives at the Oyster Bar at Grand Central before we caught our train home. But it just wasn’t enough, so I decided to make soup for dinner Sunday, and I spent most of the train ride home brainstorming a recipe.

This “summer stew” can be made using really any combination of vegetables – I had zucchini and corn readily available so that is what I added in. I wish I had a bit more seafood to add to the mix, such as bay scallops and clams, but the shrimp was pretty lovely on its own. We had this stew on its own for dinner on Sunday and used leftovers on Monday as a side with eggplant, tomato, mozzarella stacks.

Grocery List

1 lb large shrimp, cleaned & deveined

1 28 oz can plum tomatoes

1 zucchini, diced

½ Spanish onion, diced

Corn from 2-3 cobs

1 jalapeño, seeded and diced

1 large clove garlic

Juice from 1 lime

2-3 cups of water

Kosher salt, freshly ground black pepper, and smoked paprika to taste

1 tbsp freshly chopped cilantro

2 tbsp olive oil

 

 

How To

Start by heating the olive oil in a large, deep pan over medium. When hot, sauté the zucchini and onion for 10-15 minutes and season with salt, pepper, and smoked paprika. Add in the jalapeño and garlic and sauté for an additional minute.

When fragrant, pour in the tomatoes and their juices, as well as the juice from the lime, and 2-3 cups of water. Stir to combine, bring to a boil, and let the mixture simmer for 15 minutes or so.

When you are getting ready to serve, add in the corn and shrimp and let the stew cook for an additional 6 minutes or until the shrimp is pink and the corn is soft – but not mushy.  Take the stew off the heat and stir in the cilantro. Serve with toasted bread.

2 thoughts on “Summer Stew

  1. This looks delicious! Thank you for sharing this. I love stews but they always seem so thick and heavy for summer, so I’m happy to have found this one!

    Like

Comment

