Shaved Asparagus and Fennel Salad with Smoked Trout

Ah. Maintaining a blog can get to be so tedious, you know? I had a good long stretch for a while there where I was able to keep it going…a couple years even! And I’d probably still be on hiatus if it wasn’t for Squarespace reminding me of my annual fee…

It’s not that I haven’t been cooking. In fact, I’ve been cooking significantly more than I used to. It’s just that sometimes it’s hard to share everything – it’s a mix of the blog being too time consuming, fear of a lack of response, my own apathy, insecurities surrounding my humble cooking skills, unoriginal recipes, etc. 

In Connecticut, I struggled to stay connected back home to friends and family, so the blog was a way to show what I’ve been up to. Back in D.C., well, I’m connected again! Easy. But, I hate to completely throw away all of the work I’ve put in the last couple of years. So I’ll try again. This time I’m going to take a more natural pace…post when I want to…not on a regular schedule. I’m hoping this will help keep the creativity alive and keep me going.

As I said, I’ve actually been cooking a lot more recently. Back in January, my husband asked me to help him revamp his diet, mainly starting with work lunches. Typically I had been making him some sort of simple deli meat sandwich and throwing in a yogurt as a snack. And before January, he regularly skipped breakfast. Needless to say, his work day meals were struggling. They weren’t very exciting, but more importantly filling. The man would come home more hangry than the lion in Henri Rousseau’s The Hungry Lion Throws Itself on the Antelope.

wikiart.org
wikiart.org

So now, pretty much every Sunday, we spend some time coming up with a batch meal that can last the whole week, provide variety, and nourish with enough protein to keep him going through the day. So far some stand outs (breakfast and lunch) have been Tandoori chicken yellow curry, turkey chili with sweet potato, and ham, spinach and egg cups. I plan on sharing more of these recipes as the weeks go by as they’re really great to prepare ahead of time and still taste great when reheated.

But for today, I’m starting slow.

A simple, crisp spring salad for lovers of all things Spring and all things salty. This recipe can be played up in a number of different ways. Sprinkle parsley on top, or use smoked salmon. I also think it would be wonderful with a poached egg over toast. In fact, go ahead and poach that egg, because I think the creaminess would harmonize with the salt in this recipe so well!

 

Grocery List

Serves 1

6 Asparagus stalks, shaved

2 Fennel stalks, shaved

1 tablespoon Olive oil

1 tablespoon Champagne vinegar

1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard

Freshly ground black pepper

Shaved Parmesan

Smoked trout pieces

 

 

How To

Start by whisking together the olive oil, vinegar and Dijon. Set aside. Shave and combine the asparagus and fennel stalks in a bowl. Pour the oil/vinegar/Dijon mixture over the vegetable shavings and toss to coat. Top the salad with shaved Parmesan, smoked trout, and freshly ground black pepper.

One thought on “Shaved Asparagus and Fennel Salad with Smoked Trout

  1. DON’T STOP blogging … I adore your food! I’m just now coming looking for you again after my own hiatus. I started watching the Chef’s Table series on Netflix and immediately thought of you and all your great recipes.

    Like

Comment

